Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

Unorthodox

The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots
 
Edition number: Media Tie-In, Media tie-in
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Date of Publication:
Number of Volumes: Trade Paperback
 
Normal price:

Publisher's listprice:
GBP 10.99
Estimated price in HUF:
5 308 HUF (5 055 HUF + 5% VAT)
Why estimated?
 
Your price:

4 512 (4 297 HUF + 5% VAT )
discount is: 15% (approx 796 HUF off)
The discount is only available for 'Alert of Favourite Topics' newsletter recipients.
Click here to subscribe.
 
Availability:

Estimated delivery time: Currently 2-6 weeks, longer shipping time may occur. Titles from this publisher are often reprinted, causing delay..
Not in stock at Prospero.
Can't you provide more accurate information?
 
  Piece(s)

 
 
 
 
Product details:

ISBN13:9781982148201
ISBN10:1982148209
Binding:Paperback
No. of pages:272 pages
Size:212x139x15 mm
Weight:213 g
Language:English
Illustrations: b&w photos throughout
663
Category:
Short description:

SOON TO BE A NETFLIX SERIES
Deborah Feldman’s bestselling memoir of escaping from a strict Hasidic community includes a new afterword by the author detailing her life after leaving her husband and forging new beginnings for herself and her young son.

Long description:
Now a Netflix original series!

Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path&&&8212;for herself and her son&&&8212;to happiness and freedom.

Remarkable and fascinating, this “sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story” (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette) is one you won’t be able to put down.

“A brave, riveting account... Unorthodox is harrowing, yet triumphant.”
— Jeannette Walls, New York Times bestselling author of The Glass Castle